Digital Resources

Hoopla - Instantly borrow digital movies, music, eBooks, and more, 24/7 with your library card

Click here to access magazines via Libby


Click to access Brainfuse HelpNow

The Pompton Lakes Library is pleased to announce the launch of Brainfuse – on demand, anytime, anywhere eLearning for all ages and levels. Brainfuse HelpNow™ provides differentiated learning solutions for users of diverse needs and background.  Students communicate with live tutors using an interactive whiteboard to chat, write, draw, copy/paste text or images and graph homework problems. HelpNow™ is available to all library patrons from the public computers at the library or from any computer with internet connection starting February 1, 2021 until June 15, 2021. 

HelpNow’s features include:

  • Homework Help Interact with live tutors in math, science, reading/writing, social studies, PSAT/SAT, ACT, AP and state standardized tests.
  • Skills-Building Choose your topic to receive real-time help.
  • Personalized eLearning Tools My File Sharing, My Session Replay, My Tutoring Archive, My Tests Archive, and more!
  • 24-Hour Writing Lab Submit essays and other forms of writing for constructive feedback.
  • Homework Send Question Submit homework questions for expert guidance.
  • Adult Learning Center Access a library of rich adult learning content (GED) and live, professional assistance in resume/cover letter writing, U.S. citizenship prep, MS Office Essential Skills Series, and more!
  • Foreign Language Lab /Spanish-Speaking Support


Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S., including The Record, The Star Ledger, and Suburban Trends.

Available remotely 24/7 on any device with your library card!


JerseyClicks - New Jersey's One Stop Library Gateway to Quality Information

JerseyClicks – New Jersey’s One Stop Library Gateway to Quality Information

The New Jersey State Library subscribes to a number of databases specifically for the use of all citizens of the state. These databases may be accessed via JerseyClicks by anyone with a library card from their local New Jersey public library, or the State Library.

Direct links to available databases:
(a library card will be needed to access outside the library)


Military OneSource

Military OneSource is a confidential Department of Defense-funded program providing comprehensive information on every aspect of military life at no cost to active duty, National Guard, and reserve members, and their families.
Information includes, but is not limited to, deployment, reunion, relationships, grief, spouse employment and education, parenting and childhood services. It is a virtual extension to installation services.


MedlinePlus – Trusted Health Information For You

A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine from the National Institutes of HealthNational Institutes of Health


Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)

Provides detailed, current directory information on more than 12 million U.S. Businesses, 102 million U.S. residents, 683,000 U.S. healthcare providers, 1 million Canadian businesses and 11 million Canadian residents.


The Pompton Lakes Public Library is proud to offer you best-selling and classic eBooks and digital audiobooks available 24/7 from the new PALS Plus eLibrary digital collection, https://palsplus.overdrive.com

You can browse the collection, borrow with your library card, and enjoy on your computer, tablet, smartphone or eReader device. Most borrowed eBooks can be enjoyed immediately in your web browser with OverDrive Read. Or, you can download eBooks into free software, Adobe® Digital Editions, or send to your Kindle® device or app. Downloaded eBooks can be transferred to eReader devices such as NOOK®, Sony® Reader™ and many more.

Audiobooks can be downloaded into OverDrive® Media Console™ (just MP3 audiobooks for Mac® users). Once downloaded, titles can be enjoyed immediately or transferred to a variety of devices, including iPod® and many others. Users with smartphones or tablets can install the OverDrive Media Console app to directly download EPUB eBooks and MP3 audiobooks to their device. No matter how you plan to enjoy, titles will automatically expire at the end of the lending period. There are no late fees!

With thousands of popular fiction and non-fiction titles to choose from, this new collection is guaranteed to have something for everyone. For the first time, we will be offering collections especially for children and young adults. Your whole family can enjoy best-selling novels, picture books, chapter books, Harry Potter stories, the latest recipes, biographies, self-improvement guides, and much more all on your own time, wherever you may be.

Our new site, powered by OverDrive, is free with your library card. To get started enjoying eBooks, audiobooks and magazines, visit https://elibrary.palsplus.org. You can find helpful tools and information, as well as a link to contact support

Try https://palsplus.overdrive.com today:

List of compatible audio/video devices

List of compatible eBook devices


Hoopla - Instantly borrow digital movies, music, eBooks, and more, 24/7 with your library card

www.hoopladigital.com

The Pompton Lakes Public Library through the PALS Plus Consortium continues to expanded its digital library services by allowing you to instantly borrow digital movies, music, eBooks, and more, 24/7 with your library card!

Currently, there is a borrowing limit of 20 items per month.
Movie and TV content is available for 72 hours (3 days) after borrowing.
Music albums are available for 7 days.
eBooks, comics and audiobooks are available for 21 days.

Get the Hoopla App at the Apple iTunes App Store

Get the Hoopla App at the Google Play Store

Get the Hoopla App at the Amazon App Store


Visit the library to view the Pompton Lakes Library Digital Archive.
Resources include:

Digitized searchable/browse-able newspapers in PDF format

  •  Suburan Trends: 1958 to the present
  • The Bulletin of Pompton Lakes: 1894-1898, 1927, 1932-1975, 1977, 1992
  • Plus limited selections from:
    The Pompton Lakes Ledger, The Independent & Local Paper

– Pompton Lakes Women’s Club Museum –

  • Digitized issues of the DuPont Exploder
  • Dupont Photo Collection 1917-1918
  • The Criterion newspaper – 1893

*NEW*

– Digitized Image Collections –

The library has unveiled a new collection of photographs, postcards, and assorted paper materials, which have been digitized and available for viewing on all library computers.

The collections include turn of the century images of the Borough of Pompton Lakes, including the library, churches, schools, downtown area, hotels, homes and people of the town.

Pompton Lakes Library circa 1913
Pompton Lakes Library circa 1913
Lakeside Boat House
Lakeside Boat House

All resources are available on any public computer in the library.
Just click on the desktop folder labeled “Digital Archive” to access all these materials.
At this time, these materials are only accessible on the library’s computers.

These projects were funded, in part, by the Passaic County Cultural and Heritage Council at Passaic County Community College, through a general operating support grant from the New Jersey Historical Commission, a division of the Department of State.


Occupation, Career and Job-seeking skills

Job & Career Accelerator
Job & Career Accelerator

New Jersey Career Connections

The New Jersey Career Connections website provides users direct acccess to career navigation resources, including interactive tools and useful resources such as a directory of training programs, information on hundreds of careers, and advice and guidance on a wide variety of topics. In addition, the website will help jobseekers learn how to network, find employment, and prepare for interviews.


NJ Next Stop

is a state site sponsored by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development, State Employment and Training Commission, to help NJ teens, parents, and counselors learn more about career interests, career options, and the world of work.  It also provides information about industries, occupations and skills that are in demand in New Jersey.


New Jersey Career Assistance Navigator

is a free career and labor market information website presented by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Center for Occupational Employment Information, to the residents of New Jersey.

It offers extensive New Jersey information on over 550 occupations and 194 NJ occupational licenses, registrations and certifications. You will find a host of free career assessment inventories to help your patron select the proper occupational path based on their likes, dislikes and preferences. Also included are sections on Volunteering and Apprenticeships in NJ.